Ceramic Cat Sculpture Green Tarnish Verdigris Patina

From Scary to Handsome: a ceramic cat gets a make over.

The cat before a little scary

The cat before a little scary

This is my first sculpture that I made over. When I saw him at the thrift shop he was scary with a capital S. He was Halloween all the way but he had a nice shape. I knew he would look amazing with a little bronze and a little aged green patina.

Because he is ceramic with a very shiny finish I first painted him with primer that was a little gritty to give the paint something to stick too , then the modern masters acid blocking primer. I love the acid blocker primer because it is chocolate colored so for an hour or two I imagine having a solid milk chocolate

lion Paw with the chocolate colored primer

lion Paw with the chocolate colored primer

cat or lion paw.  I don’t have any pictures of these steps. I do my painting outside it was starting to rain; I brought my cat inside with the intention to take pictures of his chocolate primer phase the next day. I so excited to work on him as soon I was he was dry I painted him with the bronze paint. Oh well, here  is a picture of my lion paw in it’s chocolate phase. You get the idea.

Cat with bronze and copper paint

Cat with bronze and copper paint

Then the bronze paint, then copper paint for accents, then the aging patina. The sprayer  stopped working mid spray so I was worried how he would come out. He spray doesn’t work right away so I had to wait 15 – 20 agonizing minutes to see how he would turn out I think he is awesome and gorgeous. I love him. From scary to classy for sure. What do you think? Check him out in my shop.

Cat with his green Verdigris Patina

Cat with his green Verdigris Patina. What a handsome fellow. Check him out in my shop.

Leave a Reply

