The five dollar flat rate Box that Blew my mind

Actually it is Boxes.  But let’s start at the beginning. I received a very nice email from Salah Boukadoum a Dallas based entrepreneur asking me how I ship my items for my Etsy Shop. He is a very interesting person, google him.  I have very strong 50 shipopinions about shipping specifically about international shipping. I have customers overseas that want I my masons jars and vases but they don’t feel like paying $30 shipping for a $30 item. But I‘m getting distracted back to the email.  I replied to  the email with my opinions. He said something about his company 50ship.com selling boxes that were around $5 to ship. All I heard was $5 shipping. That’s what I am talking about.

But this is America the land of the catch. What is the catch? Do I have to buy 500 boxes for $1000? What is the real deal. I went to their website and this is where my mind gets blown. Salah had sold me on the concept:  boxes I can ship my goodies in for about $5. So I had assumed they sold boxes with pre-paid shipping. No…, they sold boxes that fit into the US postal service’s flat rate envelopes 25 for $20.50. That is completely awesome and this is coming at the perfect time. I have been  thinking seriously about my branding and looking for an economical way to make the packaging of my items uniform.

My mind has been blown because they sell boxes. That’s it, boxes. I was all excited about the concept $5 shipping and all I have to do is buy boxes. The product  is the idea plus the box, the box that fits into the envelope. Genius!

This would make a perfect movie scene, picture Tom Hanks before he hid it super big sitting in a board room table. He is young, earnest and vaguely wide eyed and is sitting with a box in front of him. Enter smug fat cat executive. “So tell me,” he says. “Why should I give you money for your new company?”  Earnest Tom says, “Boxes, our products are boxes.” “Boxes!” exclaims the fat cat incredulous. Hilarity ensues.

Check out 50ship.com they sell boxes they can save you a lot of money.

My masons will shipping in style…Melissa

9 thoughts on “The five dollar flat rate Box that Blew my mind

  1. your mason jars are not going to fit in those small flat boxes and then put in an envelope. Sorry, but that shipping thing sounds like a scam as they are selling boxes that will only fit in a flat postal envelope. that has no depth to it if you stop and think about it and not much can fit in it…………………….

      • Thank you for answering so promptly. I guess my group of plant lovers thought this was for a “flat” envelope! I saw further to “expand” the envelope around the box! And second if the post office had a problem with manipulating the envelope to fit. Any problems with delivery or anything damaged or post office refusal to deliver? I see the value but the skeptics can’t wrap their head around it, thinking it is a scam. Thank you for your patience in addressing my questions.

Leave a Reply

