The Black Telephone Redo

So I was driving down the road when I spotted a telephone table on the side of the road, I seem to do that a lot. As I recall I already had a piece of furniture in the car, my 7 year old and I was on my way to my storage to drop of the piece I had in my car. So I drove by that table,

The Telephone Table redone in Elegant Black

The Telephone Table redone in Elegant Black with a Fab Damask Stencil from Cutting Edge Stencils

saying to myself enough is enough. I had enough furniture to work on. But a block away, seem to do that a lot too, I couldn’t leave it and I circled back to the loud groans of my son who was now sharing the back seat with the telephone table.

The table reminded me our rotary phone that sat on our telephone table, the sound it made when you dialed it, the distinctive ring. I couldn’t leave it. It was a capsule of memories.

That said it sat around for about 6 months while I got other projects out of the way. Finally ready to tackle it. I decided to go with black. Despite the fact that it was partially covered with kids stickers and had a few moldy oreos stuck to it (I kid you not). I saw Elegance in the piece with its shape and turned legs and I wanted to stay classic.
So I painted it black and decided to stencil in in metallic copper-gold from Cutting Edge Stencils. Now some of you are saying is that really classic? It is to me.
At first it wasn’t loving the black color I got, a was a little more like a dark grey but with a few layers it was rich sophisticated black.

The Telephone Table Before, stickers and all plus a bonus photo bomb by my neighbor's cat

The Telephone Table Before, stickers and all plus a bonus photo bomb by my neighbor’s cat

 I love this big stencil for furniture it gets done in no time.
I was a little in a rush with to get it done to drop it off at a retailer I partner with. I knew I wanted to do some metallic accents on the rest of the piece as well along the turned legs and etc. Getting that detail on the top gave me fits. This was my first time doing this kind of accent on a curves edge and I couldn’t get a straight line. i painted over my original effort and did it again more carefully.
Usually I just drag the edge of a flat brush along the edge that that gives me a very nice line. Guess what it doesn’t work on a rounded edge. If I had had time I would have taped it off, but I didn’t.
So ever so carefully I dragged the brush around the edge. I waxed it up thew it in the car and took it to the store. I almost didn’t have a an after picture. I snapped a few in  the store with my camera.
I was sorry to see it go I loved that table and a shape like that would be perfect in my house. So I’ll have to find another one. Till next time. -Melissa

The Black Telephone Table redo

The Black Telephone Table redo

One thought on “The Black Telephone Redo

Leave a Reply

