Giving Credit Where Paint is Due

Listing the paints I have used in my projectsI thought I would take the time to go through my paint projects and a list the specific paints I used. I adore paint! I look for it everywhere I go, when in Walmart I can’t wait to scoot down that paint isle to see what down here at Lowes and Home Depot I head straight for the reject paint pile to see what goodies I can find. All these paints are my favorite and I can’t wait to get more. Scroll to the bottom to enter to win some of my Glass Goodies

round-vase-sm

Krylon Looking Glass Paint. Oh Looking Glass paint How I love you let me count the ways. With this amazing spray paint I am able to glam up Dollar store store goodies and yard sale finds. I am lucky this paint is readily available at my local Walmart I have heard its hard to find but its worth it. Don’t forget to check your local Walmart. Check out my tutorial on making faux mercury glass  in general and in any color you like.

Colored Mercuy Glass

Colored Mercuy Glass

Colored mason jars

Colored mason jars

 That brings me to my other Super Star Peobeo Vitrea 160 such a boring name. it sounds like a science solution but what a powerhouse intense transparent color. I haven’t stopped using it since it got it. All pieces of Glass in my house are in danger. Beautiful and easy to use and available in so many colors. this is another hard to find goody. I had to order in from Amazon but i heard a rumor that they are available at Pearl paint. I am going to check that out and let you know. Read the painting glass tutorial here

027

The Finished Table

The Finished Table

 My first major furniture project will always be a special love for me. It was on this project that I first used and fell in love with Martha Stewart paints available at Home Depot. it is part of the Glidden paint line. The brown is called Burl. It is a rich elegant paint with super coverage. The white I stenciled with is an off white called Tailor’s Chalk It comes with the option of primer included yes please! Read more about the making of this table here

The Blue Stenciled table, a little stenciling is not enough

The Blue Stenciled table, a little stenciling is not enough

 Clark and Kensington from Ace Hardware in “Ming Vase” This is an  excellent paint an what makes it even more awesome is that I got it for free. Now that wasn’t because of some special Blogger thing, although I am special  Ace had a special two weekends in a row where you were about to get a quart of paint for free. I was right on that. Now you  head over and sign up on their Facebook Page so you can get some free paint to the next time they are giving it away. Read about making the this Festooned table, find out what the heck is a festooned table.

 Round Blue Table

Clark and Kensington from Ace Hardware in “Sea of Midnight” I have these two very similar paints color because I was trying to match another color. Well you say you could have just taken a sample and had it color matched. yes I know but these were my free quarts color matching not included. This blue is a brighter blue than “Ming Vase” which is deep and more classic. I think the fun color gives this classic table a fun modern spin. All of those that want to yell at me for painting this table  just remember different strokes for different folks. Read about the making of this table.

Yellow Stenciled Mirror

Yellow Stenciled Mirror

Behr Ultra Premium Plus. This paint was absolutely the best find! It was a $2 quart from the reject pile at home depot. It was  the perfect color for this mirror I wanted to do. So I snapped it up and the rest is history. Read more about the making of this mirror.

Stenciling Detail

 

 Then there is my tireless work horse American Acrylic paint in White.   This paint is avail ble at Michaels, Joanns and other craft stores. After some trial and error I use this paint  for my stenciling projects. It has the right amount of flow and  enough coverage to make nice crisp lines when you are stenciling and I like nice crisp lines.

So  there you have it apartial list of my adventures in paining. But what about Chalk paint you say? Ah ha. I make my own and in my next post I will share with you how. Be sure to enter to win some of my glass goodies below. And stay tunned I have plenty more to share. Till next time -Melissa

 

Leave a Reply

