The best vacation ever: Key West!

What a smile. I'm Happy in an Awesome place. Key West

What a smile. I’m Happy in an Awesome place. Key West

I am  going to tell you the story of the vacation that changed my life.  The story is helped along by a random find when I moved. I moved 2 months ago. I packed all my stuff up 90% is in storage and moved into to house sit my ex-husbands place. He will be overseas for some months. As I am moving I come across a random stack of photo on my beside table. I am not sure why they are there but I grab them and stick it in my purse. Let’s remember that.

As I sit down to write about my best vacation ever, in Key west Florida, I am fussing about what photos to use because all my photos are in my storage, buried deep in the storage. And I remember my random stack of photos.  Could there are some Key West shots in there. Yes! You can’t tell because it’s just of me smiling but I know I’m there and that’s good enough.

I am don’t remember how I came to go to Key West I was living in New York City at the time and in need of vacation. Myself and my then boyfriend took off  for the wonders of the keys.

I expected the sun and the fun but I fell in love with the place. The architecture reminded me of Barbados my home island in the Caribbean. I felt at home, everyone was your friend, relaxed and happy. We spent every night  at Sloppy Joes they famous local bar. And every sunset we watched the sun go down in the circus atmosphere of Mallory

Malory Square: A photo by my friend Claudio Check him out on Instagram

Malory Square: A photo by my friend Claudio Check him out on Instagram

square, watching trained cats, dogs and human do tricks.

Right there and then I decided to move to Florida so I could be close to this magical place. Within 6 months I had moved and would drive my jalopy 5 hours from Fort Lauderdale one way to join the magic.

I was single and as a single woman Ii found friends at every stop. I still live in South Florida and I have been to Keys West more times than I can count, there is no place like it. I have a 7 year old and I have taken him a few times.  In fact I’m figuring out how I can live down here. The Love affair goes on.

Having Breakfast at Dennys on Duval street. looking a little tired but with a smirk on my face

Having Breakfast at Dennys on Duval street. looking a little tired but with a smirk on my face

Leave a Reply

